10 Years Together!

My wife and I will be celebrating 10 years together tomorrow! I can't believe how fast 10 years flew by! I love her even more now! Great wife and mother to my boys!

I'm going to be off work until Monday,

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Ocoee Trip, Part #2

Here's some of the action! This part of the river was where the Olympic Kayaking took place. As you can see, there were some great Level 4 rapids here. I'm on the front row. This first picture is us going into the rapid....

And this next picture is us going IN the rapid. Yes, I am completely under water at this point! LOL
Here's a shot of the rest of our crew. 12 of us went down in 2 rafts. Looks like they were having a good time too...
I'm not an expert, but it looks like our friends on the other raft were having a tough time here!
Big thanks to our guide Jeremy, aka J-Dawg for his great expertise! Also, big thanks to "Joe Dirt" (our instructor) for making us white-water smart and teaching how we should not "romance the stone".... And one last shout out to our bus driver Ty. Thanks for jamming James Brown and Phish while we drove (very fast) to and from the outpost!
We had a great time!
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Ocoee Trip, Part #1

This weekend, 11 of my friends and I went to East TN and North Carolina to white-water raft and funyak. We went to the Ocoee River, where the kayaking portion of the 1996 Olympics took place!

I'm dead tired, so I'm going to make part #1 short. This was my first time to see the Ocoee River dry. You see, they have a dam upstream that only allows water to flow during the day. We got up early on Saturday morning to watch the water flow down. Here are some before and after shots from the bridge at the Olympic Center that I took. Same location:

Rafting pictures will have to wait until tomorrow. I'm going to SLEEP!

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Some Records Broken

It's been a very wet day across Region 8. As of 9:55 PM, we have had 2.91" of rain at the Jonesboro Airport. This sets a new record for the most rain to fall on July 21st. Because of the clouds and rain, we also set another record. The high temperature of 73° is the coolest high temperature on record for July 21st.

This wet pattern has many people wondering if this will go down as one of the wettest Julys on record. Well, we will have to see. The wettest Julys on record in Jonesboro standup like this:

7.96"-1922
7.73"-1958
7.07"-1917
6.80"- 1994
6.58"- 1957

As of right now, we have had 5.07" of rain this month. This is not even in the Top 15. With that said, we still have several days to go. We'll see what happens. Stay tuned!

Big thanks to Jim Belles at NWS in Memphis for some help on these climate numbers!

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Great Pictures


There have recently been some great pictures on See It, Snap It, Send It! Look at this picture from the storms on Thursday! Cool, huh... For more pictures, including some sunset shots from yesterday, click here.


I'm off to Church. Have a great day!

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Missed The Records

It's been chilly this morning, but we missed the record...barely. Here are the lows from this morning:

Jonesboro 61°
Walnut Ridge 59°
West Memphis 59°
Mountain Home 57°
West Plains 59°
Fayetteville 52°
Newport 61°
Blytheville 61°

Near record lows again tonight. We'll see what happens!
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Flooding This Morning

I ran into officer Pace and Boling this morning in Paragould. With so much rain falling, you can bet they were working the flooded roadways. This van on Lake street got caught in the waters and floated into a ditch.

As you can see, driving through water on a road is not a good idea...

Thanks to a guy with an electric wench, she is back on the road this morning. A LOT of water drained out of the van when it was pulled out!
Be careful out there today. More storms are expected!
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Shuttle Coverage in HD!

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Reject The Recession, Car Style #3

Let's talk about air filters. Chances are, you do not change your air filter as often as you should, BUT maybe you would clean it, IF it was reusable. I have a K&N air filter in my truck. Unlike a conventional filter, this one can be cleaned and used over and over again. Clean air filters help your gas mileage and help your engines last longer. A reusable filter may save you money in the long run and increase horsepower!

Here's how you clean a K&N Filter... First, take it out a lay it on the ground.

Make sure you have the right kind of cleaner and oil. I paid about $10 for this and it can be used for several cleanings.

Spray the cleaner into every crack on the filter. Leave it on for 10 minutes...

Rinse well. Do not use high pressure... a simple flush is recommended.


Once the filter is dry, spray on the oil on the "dirty-incoming" side. You may have to make a few passes on the filter. Once it is all red, it's ready to go back in!

It's that simple. I know there are other brands of reusable filters, but I'm not familiar with them. If you have a better product, please feel free to share!
Take care,
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Steve McNair

I'm sitting here at my desk this evening watching the memorial service of Steve McNair online. For those that don't know, I'm a big Titans fan. I was born and raised in Nashville. When the Titans came to Nashville, it was the greatest thing that ever happened to our city in my eyes. As a young man, the players were the coolest thing in the world. I can remember going to Titans games and waiting for players like Eddie George, Frank Wychek, Kevin Dyson, Derek Mason, and Bruce Matthews to drive into the parking lot at "Adelphia" Coliseum. They would then walk through the tunnel to the locker rooms and wave at us as we stood at the fence.

As a young journalist, I got press passes to the Titans game. I got to hang out with the players in the locker room. As a big fan, it was cool to hang out with some of the best athletes of Nashville. It's something I'll never forget and I'm sure my cousin that tagged along will never forget it either.

The older I get, I realize more and more that these athletes are human. They put their pants on like me. They have flaws. As Bishop Joseph Walker just said from Mt. Zion Baptist, we all have flaws. No man is perfect. Bishop Walker just got really fired up about people judging McNair. Only one can judge McNair. (He who has not sinned, shall cast the first stone.)

I'm guilty of it. I have made judgemental remarks. Today, we have all sinned and it's just as bad as McNair cheating on his wife.

That's hard to swallow, but true. He may not have been the perfect husband, but none of us are perfect humans.

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Reject The Recession, Car Style #2

A week or so back I blogged about changing your oil. Many of you told me that you do not know how to change your oil, SO I grabbed a camera this weekend and I'm going to give you the basics. Women, YOU can do this too. It's easy and you can buy other stuff with the money you save! Reject The Recession! Yay. Here's what you need:

  • Oil
  • Oil Filter (book at the auto parts store will help you find the one you need)
  • Washer
  • Ratchet set
  • Oil Drain Container (pretty cheap to buy and you can use it for life)
  • Oil Filter Wrench
Ok, first... find the drain plug. It's the bolt on the side of the oil pan, under your engine. Your oil pan is simply that... a pan on the bottom of your engine. It's easier to find than you think. Use a socket to take the plug out and let the oil drain into the used oil container. Let's move on to the filter while that drains...
The filter is a cylinder-shaped piece on the side of the engine block. They vary in color. Good ones (Fram) are orange and generic ones are black. When you buy a new one, buy Fram!

To take off the oil filter, use a tool specifically designed tool for an oil filter (see below). It's a few dollars, but you can use it for life, much like the used oil container. Grab the filter with it and turn counter-clockwise. It will leak used oil, so place the used oil container under the filter to catch the oil. It's possible to have the container under the filter and drain plug at the same time.
Once you take the filter off, double-check to make sure the old gasket comes off too. It will be a round rubber-like thing. It usually comes off with the filter, but occasionally sticks to the engine block. If you leave it on, it will leak.
Get the new filter and rub oil on the new gasket. This makes the bond to the engine block better and will not allow it to stick to the engine block when you go to remove it next time.
Take the new filter and hand tighten it to the engine block. Do not over tighten.
Time to put the plug back in. I usually change the washer each time. I buy a 2-pack of washers that are made of rubber and metal every-other-time. I have never had them leak and I strongly recommend them. Put the new washer on the plug and screw it back into the oil pan. Do not over-tighten.
Now that the new filter is in and the plug has been tightened, it's time to put the new oil into the engine. Find the opening at the top of the engine. It should be clearly marked. Grab a funnel and start pouring the oil into the funnel. You can find out how much oil to put in from your manual OR by searching it online.
Let the oil settle in... grab the dipstick... pull it out... wipe it off.... put it back in... take it out and read it! It may show a little more than full at first because the filter does not have the new oil in it yet. Start your car... let it idle... turn it off and repeat the steps to check your oil level. If all is good and you do not see any leaks underneath, you're done! Note: You may have some used oil on your frame, but it will drip-dry.
You can dispose of your old oil for FREE at many auto part stores. I typically take mine the next time I go to buy supplies to change my oil again. Saves gas! LOL
By changing your own oil, you save money. You can then use that money to go out to dinner one night and Reject The Recession!
For those that change your own oil, do you have an other tips to pass along? I'd like to learn some new things!
If you missed Part #1, click here.
Take care,
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Video of Tony Coming Home!

KING5 got video of my brother-in-law returning from Iraq! BIG thanks to KING5! What an awesome weekend!


  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Tony Is Home!

Last year, I posted THIS blog entry about my bother-in-law leaving for Iraq. Well, he's home! How cool is it to come home from Iraq on July 4th?!?!

I'm so happy for their family. His wife and girls must be sleeping so much better tonight with him in the house! Hopefully I will post some pictures soon, but here is a link to the news story from our sister-station in Seattle:

http://www.komonews.com/news/local/49943067.html (Watch The Video!!!)

Good night,
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Reject The Recession, Car Style #1

For the past few months, my vents on my truck would only blow air out of the floor and dash. No air would come out of the face vents. As many of you know, I try to encourage folks to work on their own car. Don't get me wrong, if it's too big of a job.. take it to the pros! But, if you can save some money by doing a little homework, why not save some money!

Last night, I investigated the problem online. I discovered that it may be a vacuum line problem. I went outside and looked for the little tubes that come from the top of the engine and look what I found... A dry-rotted line that was split right open! Voila!
So I thought, how hard can it really be to change some tubes! I went to the auto repair shop of my choice and purchased 4 feet of line to change all three. If I'm going to change one, I better go ahead and change three. All of them looked rough! So, one at a time, I cut one off... and replaced it with a new one.

I had a hard time squeezing the new line on some of the fittings, so I used some Liquid wrench on them. Went right on!

The new vacuum lines were on and looked good! Shortly after, I went for a test ride and was amazed.
Not only were my face vents blowing harder than ever, the truck ran better! The idle was smoother and I believe I gained horsepower. Maybe it is my imagination, but I doubt it.
Here's my point. Don't run straight to the mechanic when something is wrong. Investigate it a bit, evaluate the work that needs to be done, and decide if you can tackle it yourself. It may save you some money.
If your vehicle is as old as mine (mine is a 97), you might want to go check the vacuum lines. It may fix some things!
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Son's Painting

My oldest son recently took an "Painting On Canvas" class at the Greene County library. When he came home, he had this in his hand! I was very impressed and wondered if he hand-painted over numbers... or in lines... or something. It was a BLANK canvas and he just listened to instructions to paint the beach scene. If you get a chance to let your kids take some of these summer classes... DO IT!

The only odd thing... he says it is "Kansas". I'll work on that... LOL

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Kid's College, Rector

Here's one of the groups I have spoken with this morning at Kid's College in Rector. We've been having fun looking at the Wood Ford StormTRACKER, doing science experiments, and pretending to be in hurricanes! This picture below is "Sawyer" pretending to be a reporter in a hurricane. One kid was "the rain" with a bottle of water and another kid was the "wind" with a leaf blower. Fun times!

We've been looking at the radar and we can't find any rain yet!


I had a little down time before my next group, so I thought I would post some pictures. Tropical Snow trailer is coming soon. Awesome!
Take care,
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Cool Clouds


If you stepped outside this evening, you may have seen some "waves" in the sky. They were very translucent, but were very distinct. We don't see these that often, but I believe they are cirrostratus undulatus clouds. What was so cool about these were that they covered a HUGE chunk of the sky! Here's another picture from one of my Twitter friends: http://twitpic.com/905nq
I thought you might find these interesting. Have a great night!
Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

What Are You Doing?

What are you plans for the Fourth of July. Staying here? Going somewhere? Tell me your destination and I'll make a forecast for it this week.

Ryan

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS